Meet the Artist: Gwen Cain

Meet the Artist Question time!

12747998_1057668664271291_802486384627387961_oWhat sort of person is going to love this show?
Anyone; young, old and in-between, you name it! they’ll all love it!

What’s challenging about bringing this script to life?
Making your character interesting and lively when you’re not doing something super important, also staying true to your persona and not slipping out of it when there’s a lull in the action.

Why did you want to be involved with “Peter Pan”?
I did my first show – Robin Hood –  this year and am still beating myself up for not giving in to peer pressure and trying out for the musical, so I was fixated on getting into Peter Pan.  I had been psyched about PP since the beginning of Robin Hood, and was convinced that I wanted to play Peter.  But as I went to the workshops and got all beaten up and discouraged at the fact that I couldn’t seem to do anything right, it made me realize that that character just wasn’t for me and I instantly took a liking to Hook.  Now I’m understudy for Hook and couldn’t be happier getting to be all beaten up and discouraged everyday because I get to be part of something incredible.  And it means even more that this play is Mrs. Figg-Franzoi’s thesis so I feel honored to be chosen to participate in something so monumentally important to her.


12139933_973847999320025_1236648630118068686_oWhat will the audience be thinking about in the car as they drive home after this show?

“How did none of them die rehearsing this everyday?”

How is this production bringing something new to this story?
It’s kinda close to the original, but with several twists that make it more appropriate of the moving times.

What’s going to surprise people about this show?
All the physical aspects of it.

Call someone out by name:
Who in the show is most like their character?
Zack Ginkel, I mean he kinda is Peter Pan.

Who’s the least?
Jada Carroll, she is so sweet but has to play a nasty pirate!

What sort of person is going to love your character?
Everyone!12120073_972673186104173_2089501731640330080_oHow is this character like you?
I honestly don’t do much “acting”, I’m just a more intense version of myself for this character.

Is it easier to play this character or to be yourself on stage?
Super easy.

What do you love about this character?
She’s badass and everything I’d wanna be.

Without giving anything away, what’s your favorite line of dialogue?
Something about screaming, because I always seem to forget it, and when I actually do say it it’s always in a different accent for some reason.

If you could play any other character in this show, who would it be?
Hook.

What makes a good scene partner?
Having a previous relationship with them already established.

General questions

If someone was going to make your life into a movie, who would play you?
Emilia Clarke.

When did you first perform?
I did my first show first trimester this year, but I’ve been preforming on other mediums my whole life.

Besides this one, what’s your favorite stage show?
Robin Hood; it’s the only other show I’ve ever done.

Who do you look up to (as an actor/director/etc.)?
Mari Duckler.

When you have a five-minute break during rehearsal, what do you spend that time doing?
Collapsed on the floor.

Who’s the funniest person in the cast in real life?
Bella Gabor.

What do you do when you’re not doing theatre?
Membean.

If you had a magic wand, what show would you do next?
Phantom of the Opera.

What’s the last thing you do before you step out on stage / the curtain goes up?
Nothing special, I don’t get worked up about being on stage so I don’t have to do anything to calm myself or anything like that.

Leave a Reply

